Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

As the world evolves, technological development has become an inextricable part of our lives. Hence, due to the ubiquitous of cutting edge technology in surveillance system – such as cell phone spy – the conversations of people on mobile phones are being observed nowadays, though people are unrealized. It seems to me that the downsides of this development surpass the upsides.

On the one hand, it is an undeniable fact that observing users through harnessing the technology of smartphones may have certain advantages. Deterring criminal wrongdoing is one of the benefits. To enumerate, when people speak on the phone to plan for perpetrating a crime, concerned authorities will most probably monitor the discussion, so that they can apprehend the true culprit behind perpetration which could lead to minimize the crime rate. Therefore, not only are streets much safer, but people also ponder twice before infringing the regulation.

On the other hand, notwithstanding the merits of this paradigm, the repercussions cannot be overlooked. Monitoring citizens deem morally wrong deed because they are watched without their permission so that this tends to be a violation of privacy. Thus, by tracking individuals’ smartphones, the liberty of the people tends to be restricted. Moreover, a surveillance camera in shops can be exploited to watch shoppers, which pose a credible threat. For instance, these shops might blackmail their clients owing to the recorded videos from closed-circuit television. This means that technological advancement such as security camera become a serious menace.

In conclusion, whilst technology has a number of benefits, of which preventing crimes is the most apparent, it has significant drawbacks, most notably is a privacy violation. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this development transcend the advantages.