In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that money should be spend on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is a debate concerning public transportation. Numerous people consider that spending large amounts of money on developing new rapid railway lines within the cities is important. Others, however, believe that public funding ought to be used for the improvement of the existing mass transportation. This essay will address both sides of views and provide an opinion in conclusion.

On the one hand, allocating large amounts of public money to develop new rapid railway lines is essential since many cities around the globe are not well-connected. City dwellers use their vehicles to commute around the cities as the current transport system is not effective and efficient. Consequently, more and more cars are used in the cities, increasing traffic congestion and traffic accidents. On that account, having a well-established fast transport system connecting all areas around the cities is essential in addressing public transportation issues.

On the other hand, the opponents of this idea consider that the money should be used for improving the existing mass transport because what is currently needed is not a new rapid railway system, but much more modern city transportation. The governments can improve the transportation facilities, such as adding new busses or adding new bus routes which are able to cover all areas around the cities. This way, the government can provide a better transportation system without having to spend a great deal of public funding.

To sum up, although improving the current public transportation system sounds appealing and may be cheaper than constructing a rapid transportation system, I firmly believe that using the money for the development of rapid railway lines is well-spent as it not only links the areas around the cities, it also provides a solution for the current city transportation problems.