ome people believe that punishment is the only purpose of the prisons, while others believes that prisons exist for various reasons.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Prisons are usually considered as a means of punishment alone but there are people who believe that prisons have various reasons to exist. We shall discuss both the views in detail.

In our society, some people hold a strong belief that the prisons are a symbol of punishment alone. Its the place where the criminals are sent as a result of their deed. Henceforth they are punished with several torturings. For example the people thinks that prison is the place where the criminal is asked to lie over an ice block and batted severely. Though it is just one mode of a procedure in the prisons mainly used for investigation, there are some misleading and misinterpreted concepts in the society. Of course the punishment would make someone to rethink before doing any second crime, but it's not all about the punishment.

However, there are other people who believes that prisons exists for various reasons. They consider the life of criminal in a prison as the time to repent and change themselves. For example, a criminal if being put in a prison for several years will be mentally depressed and physically isolated from the society. He will get enough time to have the insight and to be a better person. Moreover it gives a lesson to the whole society that if someone does a crime shall be punished. This is one of the message given to the whole human beings in our society.

So in my opinion, prisons are here to give a message to the criminal himself and to the rest of the society rather than a measure of punishment. Life in prisons also mould the criminal to a better person in the society. It's all about the responsibility of an individual to the social life.