One of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many people consider increasing the fuel price to be one of the best methods to solve environmental issues; however; I disagree entirely about that because of its short-term effectiveness and impossibility.

To begin with, imposing a new higher cost for fuel will cut down the exhaust emission from the private vehicle as people can’t keep up with the demand for fuel expenses, leading to a smaller amount of vehicles, but while this is almost or barely affect the higher class- who don’t have to worry much about money. In addition, an increase in fuel prices can only solve a limited part of the complex environmental problems. In fact, causes of pollution are diverse, involving the use of plastic bags in shopping or chemicals in both agriculture and industry which contaminate both water, land, and many more sources.

Besides the disadvantages of high-cost fuel could make above, I believe that there are other sustainable measures to solve the problem. Firstly, consumer behavior has to change; using items made from recyclable materials such as wood or paper,... instead of plastic. Moreover, not only do our behaviors need to change but also our mindset; to do this information about environmental problems should be put into the curriculum, and syllabus; school should become the place for the next generations learns about environmental issues. And while emissions from fossil fuels only account for some part of the world's pollution, it is the lack of awareness of environmental problems that is the leaven cause.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that increasing the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles is not one of the best ways to solve an environmental problem. In fact, changing consumers’ behavior and perspectives are among the best methods in reducing human impact on the environment.