One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantage of this development outweighs the disadvantages?

As the world evolves constantly, technological advancement has become an inextricable part of our lives. Hence, due to the advances in medical technology, the average of human lifespan is increasing, and this is certainly a positive trend, yet it has negative aspects. It seems to me that the merits of this development surpass the demerits.

On the positive side, rising life expectancy encompasses a multitude of benefits. First, the elderly are more likely to have the opportunity to fulfill family obligations. For instance, grandparents have more time to foster children during the absence of their parents, which deem a propitious time not only to impart their encyclopedic knowledge but also to share their considerable experience. Furthermore, by increasing life expectancy, seniors will most probably pursuit their interests because when they were younger, they had less the time to pursue their hobbies, so that they can relish their lives.

On the contrary, the drawbacks of extended longevity cannot be overlooked. One of these disadvantages is that the retirement age will be simultaneously prolonged if the average of the lifespan increases. Thus, the total of the workforce who are unemployed will expand. Moreover, they place an onerous burden on society since they need more care than usual. In addition, metropolitan cities become densely populated owing to low mortality rate.

In conclusion, whilst longer living has undoubted benefits, of which spending more time with their families is the most apparent, it has obvious disadvantages as well, most notably is overpopulated cities. Accordingly, it appears to me that the merits of this development transcend the demerits.