One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of medicine, people are able to fight with illnesses such as cancer. It is no doubt that elders compared to 50 years ago are healthier and able to live longer. However, since life expectancy has been increased, some of the people indicate that there is no benefit to either society or the environment.

Compared to 50 years ago, nowadays elders are able to live longer, thanks to the improvement of hospitality. Nevertheless, elders are not young anymore, and live without income. Most of them rely on the government’s perks or insurance. In the long run, if elders live longer, it will become a burden to government and society. Moreover, after the population boom, the environment has reached to its limit due to human activities. That is to say, the longer people live, the more human activities and consumption will cause. The more we cause, the more damage will cause to the environment.

Though people are living longer, and it seems not beneficial to both earth and society, I do not believe it is the only conclusion for improved medical care. In fact, recent years people’s awareness of health care and eating healthier have been emphasized. Not only youngsters, elders are also encouraged to exercise more, eat wiser. Also, some of the states have extended the standard of retirement. For example, Japan is one of the countries with a long life expectancy. The government extended its retirement age to 65 years old and even longer. Instead of retiring and do nothing at home, more businessmen in Japan tend to work longer since they are still energetic.

In conclusion, since people are living longer, we can pay more effort to explore new chances to open a new second life instead of being a burden, the advantage seems overshadowed by disadvantage.