the only way to improve safety of out roads is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses.

To what extent do you agree?

It has been recognized that only by tightening controls on careless drivers will road safety be upgraded. While I accept that this may be an efficient resolution, I believe that substantial improvements can also be reaped by other feasible measures.

On the one hand, imposing more rigorous punishments, the government is expected to reduce the risk on roads. The reason behind this is that such policies as higher on-the-spot fines or even imprisonment will act as a deterrent for driving offenders from perpetuating their careless driving, which results in a more serious consequence compared to the past. In other words, they are believed to raise public awareness about abiding by road safety regulations. As a result, citizens will be less likely to suffer from catastrophic accidents. For example, when the UK government introduced an official ban on driving while intoxicated, statistics showed a significant decline in the number of head-on collisions, or hit-and-run caused by drinking driving, proving the effectiveness of this announcement.

On the other hand, I concur with the view that there are also several other ways that can be proposed to gain road safety. Firstly, conducting vehicle inspections should be highly recommended for drivers. Indeed, if these schemes are applied on a regular basis, they will help the authorities eliminate transportations which are not roadworthy enough and, therefore, diminish accidents caused by their wear and tears. Secondly, upgrading and expanding public transport provision is another suitable solution. To be more specific, when state-owned railway and bus systems can be ubiquitous and speed up journey times, they are believed to discourage the use of private vehicles, which prevents citizens from pile-up due to driving by themselves.

In brief, while not disavowing positive effects of stricter punishments, I believe that other road safety measures can bring about similar outcomes.