In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country.

Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In recent years, the world has become a smaller place. Formerly, the preceding generations were limited to gain a university degree in their home county, but, nowadays, the millennial generations are no longer confined to seek knowledge in their countries. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from studying abroad.

To begin with the positives, one of the primary advantages is that overseas students may have the opportunity to unlock their brains’ potential. This is because of the exposure to various cultured people, who speak a different language so that overseas students are more likely to learn a new language in order to communicate with the locals. For example, London, in which citizens speak English, has prestigious seats of learning and thus overseas students have to learn English to interact with the English people. Moreover, by studying abroad, overseas students will most probably become self-sufficient due to the independent lifestyle they experience in a foreign country.

Nevertheless, notwithstanding the metis of studying abroad, the demerits cannot be overlooked. When students tend to secure a place at venerable university abroad, they incline to reside there owing to better jobs opportunities, and this not only leads to brain drain but also contributes to adopting intellectual giftedness. A good illustration of this is Ahmed Zwell. He was born in Egypt but he studied abroad in the USA and became an American citizen. Furthermore, by virtue of studying abroad, overseas students will bear a financial burden.

In conclusion, while studying abroad has undoubted upsides, of which widening students’ horizons is the most apparent, it has serious repercussion, most notably is a higher cost of living.