In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country.

Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Formerly, preceding generations were confined to seek knowledge in their home country, but, at this contemporary times, the millennials can study overseas readily, as the world now become a smaller place. This essay will highlight both the merits and demerits that result from studying abroad.

To begin with the positives, there are salient features if the undergraduates have a predilection for studying overseas. Multiculturalism exposure seems to be one of the primary benefits of this paradigm shift, which conduces to learn a new language. Therefore, by virtue of studying abroad, overseas scholars will most probably expand their horizons. For example, when the undergraduates from the Middle East endeavour to study at a prestigious university in the United States, they have to learn English in order to communicate with local citizens. Moreover, independence tends to be a result of this quantum leap. This is because students strive to cope with the vicissitudes of life solely. As a result, not only will overseas students gain autonomy, but they will also take on the mantle of their lives.

Nevertheless, albeit the advantageous implication of studying abroad, the repercussions cannot be overlooked. By studying abroad, intellectual giftedness will be adopted, thereby inducing brain drain. A good illustration of this is Ahmed Zewail, of whom his nationality is an Egyptian. When he was, he studied in the United States, so that he became an American due to his academic prowess and personal aptitude. Furthermore, if scholars have the inclination to study abroad, they will bear a financial burden as they have to afford the higher cost of tuition fees and accommodation.

In conclusion, while studying abroad has undoubted advantages, of which unlocking brain’s potential is the most apparent, it has obvious drawbacks, most notably is the brunt of the admission.