People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

It is firmly true that the use of soft drinks that contain a high level of sugar is growing up rapidly, even in developing countries and less developed nations. While a number of factors explains this trend, there are some measures that have been applying to reduce the intake of the sugar-based drinks.

Social media and heavy marketing campaigns are the principal reasons causing the issue. This gives rise lots of concerns about life-threatening health conditions such as diabetes, obesity, cardiovascular diseases and certain types of cancer that is of concern to World Health Organization. To be specific, sugar-added drinks manufacturing enterprises intend to advertise their products to target audience of young children and adolescents. This encourages them to be are likely to ask their parents to purchase those drinks for them. Given their consumption of high level of sugar content, they are prone to sugar-relating diseases. Consequently, they put themselves on weight and high sugar of blood.

There are three solutions should be implemented to address and reduce the effects of those drinks to youngsters. Firstly, local authorities should impose some rules concern of taxes on sugar-based drinks manufacture. These laws are supposed to target to the companies that produce those drinks and do not allow them to add the taxes into the selling price of products. Secondly, the board management of public areas should cut down on number of vending machines located around the areas. Finally, media bodies should carry out TV programs and health awareness campaigns on TV, on the Internet and in the public that could help in combatting the promotion of soft drinks by marketing agencies, including the compulsory addition of health warning on labels, as in the case of cigarettes.

In conclusion, although marketing campaigns are making the increase of sales of sugar-added drinks, effective steps have taken to slow down this trend.