People living in large cities have to face many problems in everyday life. What are those problems?

Should the government encourage people to move to regional towns?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Along with rapid globalisation and modernisation of countries, people have been attracted to the possibility to live better in big cities. However, there is another group who are desperate to move out of cities into rural areas. In this essay, we will discuss what are the motives pushing those people out of cities and why the government should encourage such actions.

Although people flushing into major cities could bring a huge boost to the economy, it also leads to two problems. First, people tend to over-work and are more stressed out due to fierce competition , which often contributes to mental disorders such as depression. For instance, the number of depressed residents living and working in New York are far higher than that in its surrounding districts. Mental disorders are debilitating and lower people’s quality of life. Second, air pollution is another enormous problem to citizens of large cities. There is no doubt that New York and Beijing have a higher level of air pollution because of the more active industrial and commercial activities, which potentially harm citizens’ physical health.

Then why shouldn’t governments propose that moving to regional towns would be more favourable to their citizens?? Most importantly, people can relax easily. With the gorgeous scenery that rural areas have to offer, the working population can enjoy their lives easier because not only they can have regular office hours but also more outdoor recreational activities. On the other hand, residents can enjoy a healthier lifestyle since the surrounding districts of big cities are less populated. Places with a smaller population indicate a lower degree of air pollution due to less congestion on the road sand the very small amount of industries and businesses operating there.

In conclusion, people living in urbanised areas, especially major cities, are prone to stress and physical problems in their everyday lives. In order to prevent them from such harm, the government can suggest some residents move to smaller towns. In the future, the government can possibly provide convenient transportation systems to connect people living in major cities and regional towns.