People should look after their health as a duty for a society rather than for personal benefits To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is a heated debate whether people should care about their well-being for their own benefits or for social responsibilities. I believe that both purposes are important and people should take an interest in both.

It is understandable that taking care of their health can benefit them personally. First, maintaining good health allows people to perform well in other activities, including playing sports, working, or traveling. People in bad shape, in fact, are limited in the range of activities they can do, such as those suffering from heart diseases are not permitted to ride a roller coaster, or those with diabetes are confined to engaging in dangerous sports. Second, good health brings about a good appearance. Indeed, recent scientific studies reveal that people who have a balanced diet with a lot of vegetables and fruits tend to have a smooth complexion, bright eyes, and healthy hair.

However, the responsibility of taking care of one’s self for society’s overall wellness is also crucial. One compelling reason is that an ill person may be a threat to the larger population when the disease is highly contagious. In fact, the outbreak of COVID-19 in 2019 started with a few misdiagnosed individuals, but killing numerous citizens across the world. Furthermore, unhealthy individuals can be a burden to society and further hurt the economy. Take the spread of SARs in 2002 as an example, it disclosed that the total global cost of lost economic activity was up to millions of dollars after the end of the epidemic.

In conclusion, although taking care of health is needed for one’s own benefit, it also plays a vital role in ensuring the nation’s well-being, which confirms the social responsibility of each individual in maintaining their health.