People should never eat meat because raising animals for human consumption is cruel.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The problem of compassionate attitude towards creatures has always aroused sharp debated among passionate nature lovers. Proceeding from this, an opinion exists that mankind should stop eating meat due to the atrocity reason, as growing animals for consumption Is inappropriate. Although I believe that this phenomenon is associated with the suffering of living creatures, people should not refuse eating meat products.

On the one hand, meat processing industry is a business, which sets profits above the suffering of others. Animals rising on industrial scale are considered as a source of income not as beloved pets. Unfortunately, it is hard to expect that in those industrial farms the entire life cycle of livestock passes without pain and suffering. For instance, the movie Earthlings created by vegan and eco activist Sean Monson is dedicated to this topic and attracted a lot of international attention. Thus, it is necessary to recognize that problem of cruelty towards animals involved in the meat industry remains relevant.

On the other hand, proper nutrition is vital for the healthy person’s formation and development. Meat protein acts as building blocks for creating muscles, bones, skin and other organs and supports the immune system functioning. These characteristics are crucial during the period of child’s growth as a balanced diet determines their future. For example, in 2019, vegan parents starved to death a two-year-old child in Florida, forcing him to eat fruits only. Hence, the role of meat protein in the growth and formation of healthy offspring should not be underestimated.

To conclude, even though beasts are kept on industrial farms in harsh conditions, the protein they supply is vital for people. Taking all these factors into account, I believe that people should not reject meat products.