The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In recent years, the increasing numbers of obese people, especially juveniles, has become a matter of concern as it pose threats to several countries, especially the developed. This essay will consider the driving forces behind this phenomenon and the harmful effects it may exert on families and society.

To begin, the first culprit of obesity is the massive consumption of calorie-high foods and sugary drinks, which are incredibly high in fat and sugar. As metropolitian parents are obsessed with the hustle and bustle of the modern life, their offspring are resorted to be fed with unhealthy meals. A further element catalysing to this worrying trend is the popularity of fast food advertisements, leading the youth to opt for convenient and instant food instead of home-made dishes. For instance, fast food enterprises such as Mc Donald advertise their products with misleading information, making customers believe in whatever they say and therefore, using energy-dense foods. Finally, excessive reliance on technology causes children not to engage in physical activities and burn up their calories.

As a result of this, several related problems can be anticipated. The most detrimental impact is obviously the deterioration of health. For instance, diabetes, as a consequence of obesity, leads children and adults to endure paintful medical procedures. Moreover, several obese teenagers will face the higher risk of being bullied in school, which leaves negative influences on their mental health. Even worse, overweight people tend to lead a sedentary lifestyle and become incapable workforce, slowing down the economic development.

In conclusion, it is evident that the lack of guidance, unsuitable advertisements and technology reliance are the key factor to this pressing issues and that obesity has harmful impacts on each individuals and the whole country.