A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, people judge a person based upon social status and worldly possessions. There is not much importance to traditional values such as honour, kindness or trust. I strongly disagree that social status and money should be the criteria to judge someone's worth because old-fashioned values are of great significance.

Many people believe that we live in today's materialistic era when the public judges each individual based on social status and wealth. It is believed that only those who are talented and good-looking can reach vital status in society. Celebrities have received more respect and high profile from the public for their looks and wealth. One example would be Paris Hilton, who is still highly appreciated despite her impolite manners because she inherited her parents’ property. Likewise, other stars are well-judged because of their social status as the son or daughter of a wealthy family.

Although traditional values such as respect for others have been forgotten, I believe they still play an essential role in judging someone’s worth. For example, employers still evaluate potential employees based on their hard work, positive behaviour, and integrity. Businesspeople are still looking for reliable and trustworthy business partners because those who have talent and work hard are more valuable than those who are promoted through social status and money. Therefore, those old values are irreplaceable in the assessment of one’s potential.

In conclusion, while it is commonplace for people to hold a higher value of material possessions and social status in this overcritical world, I think old-fashioned values are more essential and can not be overlooked by others.