The population in most cities is growing as people move to cities to find work and new opportunities.

What problem does overpopulation in the cities cause?

How can these problems be solved?

Overpopulation in the cities is increasingly becoming a social issue. This essay will elaborate the major problem such as the lack of basic necessities and suggest a viable solution of relocating the company’s operation. While it may be a challenge, it may definitely not impossible to achieve.

The crucial problem of overcrowded cities is the issue of sustainability which includes lack of basic needs such as housing and clean water. This is because most of the cities are specifically designed to cater a designated number of people and will not be ready to be converted to mega cities. For instance, the Times Newspaper recently reported that the population of Sydney surpassed the average number of the required residents. In contrast, if its population is within the normal average range, the authorities will find it less difficult to provide shelter and portable water for everyone.

The potential approach to tackling this issue is for the government to mandate businesses to move their manufacturing operations outside the city center. This will open the door of opportunities to rural areas as more jobs will be available and the need to move to cities will be discouraged. For example, the recent survey at the University of Queensland concluded that more respondents are likely to move to an area where they can find an employment. This clearly shows that if the employment opportunities are readily available within their location, people will not be attracted to live in the cities.

In conclusion, although there are problems associated with overpopulation in the cities, these problems are not insurmountable. To address the issue, the government should adopt a long-term measure such as to relocate the plant operations of the company outside the city.