With the rapid development of communication technology, e.g. smart phones, tablets and other mobile devices, some people believe that the disadvantages outweigh advantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the abundance of portable communication technology these days, there has been a lot of discussion that mobile phones, tablets and other devices are producing more issues than benefits to society. I completely disagree with this opinion, as I believe that mobile devices have served more advantages that outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, the proliferation of social media and teleconferencing tools have drastically improved long distances communication. With a few clicks of a button, speaking to people in other countries via portable devices is now possible. For instance, mobile phones and tablets have enables popular applications like Skype to be used these days to connect face-to-face virtually friends, family or business partners, no matter if next door or in Europe. With the we socialize these days, there is no doubt how beneficial communication technology has been.

On the other hand, the development of antisocial behavior has arisen from the revolution of technology. Our increased reliance on mobile devices is changing the way we communicate – from spending quality time together connecting instantaneously. For example, applications only specific to mobile phones and tablets like Instagram and WhatsApp have fostered habits like cyberbullying and social detachment especially amongst teenagers. It is these disadvantages that are causing people to feel that it has outweighed the benefits.