With the recent development in technology like e books, some people feel that printed materials like books, newspapers and magazines will soon be a thing of the past. Others feel that these forms of media will never disappear.

What is your opinion?

Advancement in technology affected communication tools in various ways. Although some people believe that the printed materials will become obsolete, I would argue that it is still indispensable.

To begin with, information on the offline media such as books and newspapers come from a reliable source. All the data gathered by a professional reporter were verified and edited for authenticity and correctness. For instance, a research done by an independent international press club in the UK claimed that the Times Newspaper has the highest reliability ratings compared to other online site news. Thus, this clearly shows that people will trust to read published news in printed form because of its accuracy in giving the right information.

Furthermore, the limitation of internet connection in some places causes the people to rely on a published materials. Most of the residents in remote towns and provinces find it particularly difficult to have a high-speed internet access. For example, in a survey conducted by the National Telecommunication Commission in the Philippines, it revealed that only 60% of the citizens enjoyed the required connectivity from various internet companies. This makes it clear that the issue in connectivity prohibits the total disappearance of the published media.

In conclusion, while the advancement of technology has an impact on the forms of communication, I believe that offline media is an essential part of communication needed by the society. It is predicted that in the future this printed materials will continue to be the most popular choice among the readers because of reliability and internet issue.