Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, advertisements of certain foods should be banned in the same way as advertising of cigarettes is banned. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a hotly debated issue that there should be a restriction on food advertisement due to its devastating effects which can be comparable to smoking cigarettes. Although the negative impacts of overeating on consumers are obvious, I disagree with the idea of banning showing adverts of this kind.

It cannot be denied the fact that smoking is a deadly habit due to the detrimental effects it has on smokers. It has been proved that frequent exposure to nicotine in cigarettes may lead to lung cancer, heart attack among smokers. Even worse, smoking during pregnancy or even being a passive smoker can result in birth deformation. Similarly, consuming excessive amounts of food is to blame for various health issues, including obesity, meaning that their daily routines will become increasingly inconvenient. Furthermore, overconsumption of food rich in oil and salt is considered as the culprit of high blood pressure and high levels of cholesterol. This not only becomes the financial burden on family resulting from a large expenditure on treatment but is also responsible for thousands of casualties each year.

Despite the demerits mentioned above of overeating, I would argue that it is unnecessary to end commercializing these products. The chief reason is that it seems to be the most optimal approach for producers to reach target customers and make profits. In other words, if they are not allowed to promote their products, the nation’s economy will also be constrained. Moreover, it is individuals, not producers, who need to make responsible decisions when it comes to food. Also, the amount of food they consume daily depends on consumers’ demand. Therefore, no matter whether advertisements on such food are prohibited, the amount they eat is not reduced. Plus, although the notion of banning certain food and drinks such as convenience food and sugared drinks may sound reasonable, I still maintain that there should only be restrictions on which channels are permitted to place adverts on food. For instance, ads of this type can only be placed on websites that children, who are mentally and physically immature, cannot access.

All things considered, notwithstanding the adverse effects of eating excessively, showing commercial videos and popularizing these products on the media is essential not only to the businesses themselves but also to the nation’s development. Individuals should take more responsibility for their choice of food and drinks.