Research has shown that the transportation of products and people are the main source of

pollution. Some people believe the government should be in charge of this, while others believe it is the

fault of individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Pollution is mainly caused by product transportation and people . Therefore, there is a controversy between whether the government or only individuals may take the main responsibility for this problem. This essay will discuss both views and give the personal opinion for this issue.

Regarding the government, there are certain reasons why the governme nt need to be in charge of pollution. First of all, government have the power to make and strengthen laws. Consequently, this will give the government the right to observe and force people to protect the environment. For example, the government can charge a higher tax on midsize and large displacement vehicles to restrict the number of those vehicles on the road, which indirectly reduces a large amount of exhaust fumes released into the air. Secondly, governments have an extensive influence on the public, which enables them to organize many environmental-related activities or campaigns to raise awareness in the community. Howeve r, those actions still need the collaboration from people to achieve the purpose successfully.

On the other hand, individuals can be responsible for the polluted environment. It is believed that people nowadays use lots of transportation and discharge pollutants into the environment continuously. Because of that, people can directly reduce pollution by adjusting their daily habits, such as saving water and electricity, using public transportation instead of private cars,... A small change from one person can easily impact others, which may in turn create a big difference on improving the pollution level. In other words, the awareness of protecting the environment can be raised quicker and more effectively between individuals than by the government.

In conclusion, although the government has certain rights to adjust public behaviors by laws and many campaigns, I personally believe that individuals may take the main faults for pollution as their living habits directly affect the environment.