Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that rich nations should find other ways to help alleviate the economic situation in poor countries since financial assistance does not work. From my personal perspective, I totally agree with this opinion for the two following reasons.

The main reason why finanicial aid from developed nations could not solve poverty is due to corruption in aid management. This means that since poor countries are often less democratic and more authoritarian, their corrupted officials will take a major portion of the foreign financial aid before trickling it down to the citizens. Therefore, people who are really in need will benefit nearly nothing from the aid and continue living below the poverty line. To illustrate, in 2020, when Vietnam sent a two-million dollar donation to combat starvation and impoverishment in North Korea, the local authorities pocketed most of the money, leaving the financially struggling people in the nation to survive on their own.

Another rationale for my concurrence is that monetary assistance fails to address the roots of the poverty problem which are economic mismanagement and unstable political systems. To be more specific, I believe that without actually providing any means for them to earn more income, helping destitute people by giving them more money can only solve their financial hardships for a short term, and eventually the situation remain unchanged. On the other hand, a sound economic approach and a more stable government would surely create a favorable environment for every citizen to do long-term business, and as a result, the population will be lifted out of the poverty circle.

In conclusion, I believe that poor nations should stop receiving financial aid. The arguments are that the recipients of the assistance are often rampant with corruption and the aid itself cannot tackle the actual causes of the problem. Therefore, other types of support should be given to these countries.