Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It argued that wealthy nations should find other ways to help alleviate impoverishment in low-income countries since financial assistance does not work. From my personal perspective, I totally agree with this opinion for the following reasons.

The main reason why financial aid from developed nations could not tackle poverty is due to corruption in aid management. To be more specific, governments of poor nations are often less transparent and rampant with abuse of power, corrupted authorities tend to take a major portion of the foreign financial aid before trickling it down to the citizens. Therefore, needy people will hardly benefit from the aid and continue living below the poverty line.

Another rationale for my concurrence is that monetary assistance might harm the recipients’ economy. This is because while low-income countries usually have no sound economic systems, a sudden influx of money to the citizens from foreign aid could cause rising demand for goods and services, their prices tend to increase, as a consequence, inflation would surely occur, which could destroy the economy.

I argue that wealthy nations could seek other approaches to address the poverty problem in poorer nations. The first one is that economic experts could be sent to those countries to help jointly build better economic policies with the existing governments. This would create a favorable environment for every citizen to do long-term business, and as a result, the population will be lifted out of the poverty circle. Another type of help is that rich nations should invest more on needy ones. The reason is that increased foreign investment would create more jobs for their financially struggling population, which allows them to earn more stable and higher income in order to escape from poverty.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that affluent nations should stop sending donations to other least-developed states due to corruption in aid distribution and its potential harm to the economy. On the other hand, these nations could send more specialists to establish stronger economic systems and increase their investment on low-income economies to actually improve their situation.