The role of prisons should be to punish criminals who have committed serious crimes. Training courses and education offered to prisoners are a waste of taxpayer’s money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some countries experience a completely new way of punishing criminals in prisons: prisoners attend educational sessions or do some jobs in order to upgrade their views and attitudes and to have possibilities of having a normal life and holding a position after their relief. However, it is usually believed that such offers for criminals are wrongful and do not influence prisoners at all. I share this point of view and would like to justify my view by arguments and facts.

To begin with, the initial idea of jails is to punish people commited crimes. Prisoners are to understand and realize that their crimes were wrong decisions and victims of their crimes did not deserve such treatment. Complete isolation, lack of full communication and uncomfortable living conditions form effective way of punishment. It seems to be ridiculous situation when prisoners receive an offer to get educated freely as even people out of prisons cannot usually afford themselves education.

In addition, there are numerous situations when ex-offenders couldn’t get used to normal routine life. They do not know how to live, earn money and build relationships. Moreover, they tend to repeat their crimes. It seems to me that training courses during jailing do not change this state of affairs. People after prisons usually have other way of thinking and are not adapted for usual life any more.

In conclusion, striving of “recovering” offenders is a waste of time and money for the reason, to my mind, it have no expected effect on prisoners.