Schools don’t give proper health education to young people. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The topic of whether schools provide proper health education o students is of concern for many people. Some suggest that more health lessons are needed so that teenagers will become strong and well-built. As for me, I do not agree this opinion.

Those who assert more health education hold the following reasons. Firstly, nowadays many students focus too much on their study and neglect the importance of physical exercises. As the academic subjects are considered as the first priority for high school students, they occupy the largest part of juniors’ campus lives, which makes students to scarify the PE classes and fitness training due to demanding teachers and headmaster. Secondly, there are some high schools which lack sports facilities. Because of insufficient funding or space, some schools do not provide gym centres or an outdoors stadium for teenagers to use, thereby discouraging them from participating physical training.

However, there are opposing voices. Some insist that the current health education system is enough and appropriate to train a satisfactory adolescent. To start with, almost every school offers a comprehensive health education curriculum during school time. In order to ensure teenagers grow up in a healthy mode, the teachers give lessons on, for example, health issues of alcohol, tobacco or drug use and balance diet such as nutrition and weight control, thereby allowing students learn basic health information. Besides, many schools put effort on improving the health systems. For example, although some small school cannot furnish the fitness facilities on campus, the faculty staffs organise the connection with the local fitness centres for students use in their leisure time, allowing young people to work out and relax.

To sum up, I think most of the schools have provided the proper education on physical health and mental health. However, there are improvements needed so that youths become more energetic and vigorous.