Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some people support scientific research to be conducted by the government due to financial sustainability and moral issues, I personally believe that the cooperation between enterprises and the government could better serve the purpose.

People believe the government is responsible for this activity for many reasons. First of all, the government may enjoy a stronger financial ability, which allow them to easily invest more money to organize and carry out research activities. Therefore, the research can be conducted in a large scale and long term, which in turn provides a much more precise result afterwards. Secondly, moral issues can be prevented as the government may not let the research serve for malicious purposes. For example, the project of genetic replication has received lots of controversy, and is currently under the control of the government. This can help the government minimize unexpected impacts on the society, however, it might also prevent them from spreading the results widely.

On the other hand, private companies can contribute to those research together with the government to generate a better achievement. The first reason is that enterprises can commercialize scientific results to the public. Companies usually come up with useful customers' insights and appropriate strategies to facilitate the launch of those results. As a consequence, the research can generate economic gains effectively. Furthermore, the government can not specialize in all aspects of scientific research, and thus those can be driven better by enterprises instead. Without such collaboration, the government can be easily snowed under massive work and ineffective communication.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the cooperation of both the officials and private companies for scientific research can bring more values and benefits for the whole society.