Scientists believe computers will become more intelligent than human beings Some people think the development have a positive impact others think it is negative To what extend do you agree or disagree

The advancement of technology in the last decade has provided computers the capability to think like humans. As a consequence, a debate has raised whether it would thrive human civilization even further or bring disaster instead. Although smart computers would probably bring some negative effects, I believe the benefits would overweigh the drawbacks.

An expert system in medical field has helped many doctors to make a diagnose based on symptoms. This intelligent system is built by feeding thousands of knowledge on diseases and the symptoms for each of them. With the help of such system, doctors only need to decide which disease is most likely responsible for the patient's suffering from the list of possible illnesses made by the system. For instance, my family doctor has recently tried an expert system and she claimed that the system was very convenient, helpful, and can make an accurate deduction from the given symptoms.

Artificial intelligence on computers has also been utilized by the government to increase security in many ways. One approach is by implementing face recognition technology in public places. For example, a CCTV in airport can help the staffs to recognize criminals that try to enter the airport. The camera then will send the footage to a computer operated by an authorized person to alert them. This kind of system undoubtedly would increase public safety in airports.

In conclusion, smart computers unavoidably would have negative impacts, but it would also help to develop countries and societies as a whole. It is human's responsibility to make regulations to control the usage of computers.