Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small number of people. Some people say that the governments should spend public money on saving these languages while others believe that could be a waste of money. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Being used by a minority of native speakers, some languages are currently on the verge of extinction. While it is a commonly held belief that saving these languages might be a waste of financial resources, I would argue that such attempts are needed in protecting the culture attached to each individual language.

There are obviously reasons why some endangered languages are considered not worth saving. The ultimate purpose of a language is to serve as a tool for communication. Therefore, if one is spoken by only a few speakers, it does little help in connecting these people with today’s modern world, where some dominant languages namely English and Chinese are universally used. In this way, public money spent on measures to save these minor languages is considered unnecessary. Furthermore, since there are numerous on-going projects in other fields that need investment from the authority, the public budget would be put under pressure being devided into too many aspects. As far as important programmes such as healthcare service improvement or natural habitat conservation are concerned, less urgent action like protecting endangered languages can be postponed.

Nevertheless, I am convinced that government spending on campaigns to prevent the loss of some languages is essential. Since there is an intimate relation between language and culture, losing a language equals losing identity. Each nation has it own distinctive history of birth and development; and language has always played a crucial role in passing it to the next generation. If action is not to be taken to preserve an endangered language, its cultural identity may also disappear and knowledge about such civilization remains unknown. Additionally, native speakers would have difficulties using another language to communicate because they cannot express themselves properly as in their mother tongue. For example, Vietnamese people cannot show enough respect to the elderly if they solely use English since there are more than a dozen expressions for the word “you” in Vietnamese, which means they need to use different pronouns according to the person they are talking to.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that public spending on protecting languages is crucial and government should take this into serious consideration.