Should humans adapt to technology or should technology adapt to us? Is technology making us intellectually weaker or more intelligent?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The issues of technological adaptation among humans have grown in importance since the technological breakthroughs. Despite the tremendous benefits that can be derived from the use of technology, it must not be forgotten that over depending on it has considerably declined human intellectual ability. This essay will discuss both issues, from human adaptation to technology to its impact on human intelligence, using an example to demonstrate points and support arguments.

Firstly, with the accelerating pace of industrailisation, people should learn to adapt with such changes. This is due to the fact that since the technology has revolutionised the society people who are new to this digital world are unable to fulfil their basic needs to survive. For example, recent studies by human resources departments in Manchester showed that nine out of ten employee fails to obtain job due to a lack of advanced technological skills. As a consequences, human adaptation to technology is a matter of the utmost importance for human survival.

Secondly, while it is an undeniable fact that the technology has an enormous benefit to society, human intellectual function has declined considerably. The reason behind this is that with an over reliance on the technological equipment, people often cannot complete a simple task independently. For instance, studies by school organisation in the UK showed that 75% of children from high schools are unable to complete simple mathematics problems without the use of a calculator. Therefore, the over reliance on technology could reduce the level of intelligence.

To conclude, despite the significant advantages with regards to technology, especially in employment, there is a great danger regarding basic intellect. Hopefully, in the future the government will recognise both the drawbacks and benefits and implement programs to help candidates to secure jobs and improve the mathematical literacy of the younger generation.