Some believe that people are naturally born as leaders while others feel that leadership skills can develop.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Views regarding the origin of leadership divide. It is believed to be innate by some and able to be cultivated throughout time by others. Both views will be dissected in the following essay.

On one hand, there are compelling arguments showing that leadership is a fixed quantity. Natural leaders are often depicted to possess certain traits, such as strong facial features, a natural grace of movement or a commanding voice. These intrinsic traits can manifest at a very young age and be sustained throughout a person’s life time, as witnessed in the case of the successful entrepreneur Jack Ma or the TV host Oprah Winfrey.

On the other hand, the capacity to command has been proven to be more deliberate than spontaneous. Leadership is a skill that could be learned, through ongoing mentoring, self-reflection and real-world experience. For instance, despite his apparent lack of verbal eloquence and stage presence, Elon Musk’s early years of launching and managing different projects through turbulences have cultivated his leadership skills, enabling him to succeed with new companies such as Tesla or SpaceX. Also, it is worth noting that even gifted leaders will still have to learn from and adapt to practical contexts to gain effective leading strategies. Despite his prodigious talents, Steve Jobs’s inability to inspire led to his ouster from Apple before he restrategised his approach, embracing others’ viewpoint and assigning competent people to rightful positions.

Stemming from the aforementioned arguments, I hold the belief that while indeed there are observable traits to leaders, institutional practices constituent a larger share of a person’s success in managing and inspiring others.