Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, with the development of the medical industry, the longevity of human beings has been significantly extending. Therefore, there are several nations permitting the old to maintain working until they decide to retire without a limited age. This regulation can bring more benefits than the downsides.

There are a number of reasons to implement the sanction supporting the idea of extending the working age. Firstly, as mentioned, the advancement in medication leading to the betterment in the treatment for diseases, making humans live longer and healthier compared to past generations. Therefore, governments should enact new policies to let the old determine the retirement age based on their health status. Secondly, given the current economic situation, the inflation and increased price for merchandise, by maintaining a working state in the favor of senior citizens, they would be able to contribute to financing their family rather than being considered as the financial burden.

There are more compelling reasons to justify the advantages of this initiative. According to some medical research, when the average age is considerably extended, if the old retire in compliance with the legal regulations at a certain age, they will have decades left without working or dedicating to anything, which would easily result in dementia earlier or even depression as they lose their life purpose. In addition, in order to conduct the idea more efficiently, government agencies could offer new policies such as tax deduction and healthcare for the enterprises recruiting the senior workforce, this will act as the incentive for these organizations specifically and the national economy as a whole.

In conclusion, it is evident that the benefits of allowing the old to decide whenever they are willing to retire are broad-based. Consequently, the government and companies should have the tight cooperation and coordination to expedite the offered initiative.