In some countries children have very strict rules of behavior, in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they like. To what extent should children have to follow rules?

The extent to which the children should follow strict rules of behavior is very complex issue because the children grow up in different culture. For example in Pakistan and India, child has expected to be submissive in front of parents and adults around him. While this is not the case in western countries, mostly children follow the moto ‘thou shalt do what thou wilt’ promote by the celebrities and rock star. I believe that to follow strict rules of behavior have advantages and serious drawbacks as well which are discussed below.

Firstly, strict rules of behavior create respectful and responsible children, who turn in mature respectful adults, which form a suitable society which is free from bad trend like prostitution and drug abuse. Secondly, if a child does not follow the strict rules of behavior they may get out of hand, become work shy and indolent. This may be the burden on society and since the government find it ways to cater such ills.

However, forcing children to follow strict rules of behavior, sometimes may not yield result in advantage as discussed above, the strict rules may backfires and works against the society. Teenagers always do opposite to what they are told to do, simply because they want to be independent. The children should have rights to exercise free will and allow them to develop their own pattern of behavior. Imposing strict rules may simply destroy the individuality of a child.