In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Taking for granted that processed food has become prevalence due to the hectic pace of life. The predominant factor resulting in health hazards is the excessive consumption of processed food. Hence, a vigorous debate has been sparked over whether concerned authorities should levy a surcharge on processed food. It seems to me that this paradigm arguably fails to address the real problem.

First, imposing a levy on convenience food will neither curb nor satisfy the desire of eating it. This is because people have less time to prepare wholesome food so that they prefer to purchase convenience food in order to save time. A good example is employees at the workplace, they have a predilection for ordering ready-cooked food from fast food restraint, such as KFC and Burger King, as they do not have enough time.

Second, by applying a surcharge on fast food, their prices will soar which contributes to a decline in demand for fast food. To enumerate, Lowe income group is less likely to consume fast food, but affluent consumers will continue to purchase fast food. Taking the USA as an instance, the price of fast food is high, yet a large number of people tend to buy it as the statistics indicate owing due to a lavish lifestyle. As a result, increasing the levy could have a peripheral impact on eating too much fast food.

In conclusion, the primary cause of health issues is eating fast food rather than a healthier one. However, it deems to me that levying a surcharge on processed food is impractical as it will not deter people from consuming fast food.