In some countries, it is illegal for some companies to reject jobs application because of their age. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is witnessed that in many nations, firms are banned from applying age restriction to their recruitment. While its disadvantages are discernible, it seems to me that this policy offers more benefits.

On the one hand, when companies are prohibited to take age into account in evaluating candidates, the most conspicuous drawback stems from a health perspective. Indeed, it is obvious that the older an applicant is, the less robust he will be. Thus, if senior citizens are no longer hindered from applying for a number of vacancies, they possibly embark on strenuous work in a poor working environment, which may leave them exhausted, injured and, consequently, pose threats to their well-being. However, there has been a consensus that it is only the labourers themselves that are able to thoroughly assess if they are physically competent for a job or not. In other words, any concern over their safety may be redundant, since individuals have already pondered over them and viewed themselves fitting the job descriptions.

On the other hand, I opine that lifting the age restriction in job applications will be advantageous to both employers and employees. Regarding employers, this is believed to beat their stereotype about correlation between how old an individual is and his capabilities. For example, as soon as all age groups can be recruited, they may discover that a high school student has acquired enough knowledge and skills to bring about a massive influx of money to their business despite his lack of experience in life; as a result, the companies are more likely to select well-qualified personnels. Regarding employees, no sooner had age discrimination been outlawed than their accessibility to a wider range of positions was enhanced. Hence, their job opportunities can be broadened, and in the long-term, this acts as a catalyst for their financially independent life with a higher level of autonomy.

In conclusion, although the repercussions of tackling age discrimination at workplaces can be sufficiently examined, I genuinely hold a view that this is generally a beneficial legal action.