In some countries, more young adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed their education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

In recent years, there has been a trend that the mature who are graduated and employed tend to move in with their parents, instead of living independently. While this tendency may have some positive impacts, I would argue that its minus points are more glaring.

There is no denying that continuing living with parents would bring the grown-ups some benefits. Firstly, they could save a great deal of money. They can save on rent, utility bills, grocery bills, and so forth. Another advantage of this trend is the satisfaction of helping and taking care of their parents. The closer people are to their parents, the more chances they can help them. Especially, when the parents get severe diseases, the offspring should be with them for better care. Moreover, living with parents would give people a sense of continuity and familiarity. In some cases, when people move away from their families just after being graduated and employed, they may feel homesick and isolated. Therefore, still being with families certainly brings the mature a cozy and safe feeling.

In spite of the aforementioned advantages, living with parents at early adulthood certainly produces some adverse effects on adults. The first one is that they might have less privacy and freedom. Mature though people are, they still can be controlled and restricted by their parents. For instance, without their parents' permission, they cannot hang out with friends overnight or invite them to their houses. The uncomfortable feelings from those events can lead to negative emotions among adults. Secondly, still living with parents at early adulthood would result in more conflicts. The culprit is the wide generation gap between family members. Growing up under different circumstances and environments, each generation is likely to have a different take on how life should be lived and how the family should interact, thus enhancing the likelihood of quarrels. As a result, the bond among family members would be broken. Furthermore, adults may not gain life experiences when living with parents. There are a lot of tough lessons in work and life and learning to catch them is part of growing up. By living with families, people are shielding themselves from not only hardships, but also the valuable lessons life has to offer.

In conclusion, while residing with parents at adulthood could do people a service, I would contend that the minus points of this trend outnumber its plus points.