In some countries, some high school leavers are choosing to work or travel for a period of time before going to university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of those school leavers’ dicision. Give your own opinion.

After graduating high school, many students choose to travel or get a job for some time before university life. While I accept that there are benefits and drawbacks of this decision, I would argue that it is better to take a gap year to work or travel.

The option to get a job or travel straight after school is desadvantageous to some extent. The main shortcoming is that a number of graduating students may start their professional careers later than their fellows who do not choose to get a job or go on a trip after high school. As a result, they will get promoted later. In addition, traveling costs them a great deal. If they travel right after high school, they will earn no money and have to ask their parents for the expense. It is not advisable that people should take this option.

On the other hand, it seems to me that high school seniors sould choose to work or tralvel for a period of time because of some undeniable advantages. Firstly, working and traveling are both good chances for them to gain some valuable experience. My brother, for instance, traveled to London during his gap year. By spending time in London, he was able to hear, speak, read and write the English language constantly which gave him countless oppurtunities to iprove his English skills. Secondly, taking a year out helps young graduates clarigy their study and career future. They can do various jobs without long-term commitment in this tiem, and discover what might be right for them.

In conclusion, I believe that there are many advantages for young people who start working or traveling prior to entering a university, although this decision has some notable disadvantages.