In some country, young people leave rural area to live and work in cities. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think the advantages overweigh the disadvantages?

Along with the non-stop development of the world, the young have tendency to leave the countryside and find out the new fortunes in cosmopolitan cities. There are many reasons leading to this trend such as better quality of life in cities. In addition, living and working in cities also causes both negative and positive results, however, i believe its disadvantage overpasses its advantages.

To begin with, the reasons why young people make a decision to move out of rural areas to settle in cities vary. Firstly, it is undeniable that the quality of life in countryside is inferior to that in cities with series of shops, restaurants and modern infrastructure. People have a burning desire to possess such a glamourous life with the state-of-the-art technology, therefore, cities are the attractive destination for them, especially high-oriented ones. Secondly, the young are imbued with the idea that it is city – a promising land where they can find out their fortune and develop their career. Admittedly, there are thousands of companies basing their office in cities, which create favourable conditions for them to get a good job.

However, the transition might be conducive to more drawbacks than benefits on society. Without knowledge and skills, hardly the young can compete in labor market, hence, they are reluctant to opt for life of criminals, which might be the breeding ground for social unrest and political instability. Another detrimental result is that authorities in urban areas will struggle with the high pressure from medicine, education and other life-sustaining matters in order to meet the increasing city population. These problems would lead to financial constraints. Nevertheless, society will become more economically balanced with more even distribution of wealth between rural areas and cities. This will also stop any animosity stirred uo by difference in status between countryside people and their city counterparts.

In condition, because of many reasons, young people tend to move from rural areas to urban ones. However, this trend results in several serious problems especially social unrest and the increasing rate of crimes in cities. I think government should have equitable policies to encourage people develop business in countryside.