Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

Phân tích

In this day and age, education is always regarded as a topic of interest. It is recorded that students are under obligation to study a host of subjects in some education systems while in other countries’ education, students are forced to concentrate on only their majors at the age of 15. Although each tendency has its own benefits, I believe that the former is much more advantageous.

On the one hand, limiting some subjects on the syllabus can provide students with greater motivation. Obviously, when they are allowed to study lessons that they yearn for, they are likely to put more dedication to studying, which leads to excellent studying results in lieu of having to spend time learning ones that they don’t feel passionate about. Therefore, students can intensify their possibility of success in their jobs. Moreover, if students have to study only a subset of subjects at the age of 15, they are absolutely relieved from great pressure and have more opportunity to live a more livable life by participating in extracurricular activities. For example, a Vietnamese student have to study 12 to 13 subjects on average with such a huge amount of information that they have little time to enhance their physical education as well as their integral soft skills.

However, I lean towards the opinion that schools should provide students with lessons about a wide range of subjects owing to the fact that these courses can assist students to acquire comprehensive personal development. In fact, numerous companies require employees to attain intimate knowledge related to not only this job but also other domains in life. As a result, teaching students multiple subjects can supply them with better chances for lucrative jobs and the likelihood for promotion at workplace. For instance, students specializing in medical course just need to study Biology, Mathematics and Chemistry but if they acquire non-major classes like English, they can be offered to study abroad to broaden the horizon or work at a multinational hospital compared to the ones who don’t accomplish English qualifications. Besides, having been taught an abundance of subjects until graduating, students can get an in-depth understanding of their capabilities and dreams to make a right decision about career plans.

In conclusion, each trend embraces both strength and weaknesses but I believe that it is much more beneficial for schools to organize courses of full subjects for students rather than forcing them to study certain ones.