Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for and allow their children them to do whatever they want Is this a good way to raise children What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older

Nowadays, it is widely argued whether giving to kids what they want and saying yes to everything they request is the best approach for parents in terms of raising their children. I personally believe that this is a hazardous method which could cause serious long-term effects to young people as they grow up.

In general, I can understand that being indulgent to your kid’s wishes, has its short-term advantages. For example, a child feels loved by its parents, since they listen what it has to say to them, and immediately fulfill its wishes. However, that is not a good method for raising kids, because it gives to children the upper hand on determining what they need. Speaking from personal experience, my parents always paid attention to what I had to say, but never said to yes to my requests, if they considered them inappropriate. Therefore, I always trusted their decisions because I understood that they were looking my best interest.

Now, this approach of parenting should, also, be avoided due to its long-term consequences to young children growing up. First of all, young people begin to lose respect towards their parents and start to act in whatever manner they want. They do not take advice by anyone, and often times, behave violently and commit to crimes. Recent studies indicate that almost 50 percent of young inmates has stopped from a young age to be in touch with its parents. In addition, when a person feels that it is the center of attention it faces difficulties growing up with respect to socializing with others and becoming a member of wider groups. That is because he is not used to interact and to listen to other people’s opinion and thoughts.

In conclusion, I consider as a bad style of parenting fulfilling every desire of their children, especially due to its longstanding consequences to kids as they begin to grow up.