In some parts of the world it is becoming increasingly popular to try to find out one's own family history. Why? Positive or negative?

Recent years have witnessed the rise in the searching for one’s own family background taken in many countries. This practice stems from various reasons, including internal and external factors influencing on the one who embarks on the idea. From my perspective, comprehending what our families have been through can benefit us in many ways.

The increasing popularity of family history investigation can be ascribable to the personal quest of their ancestors together with the motivation from mass media. Considered as human’s instinct, curiosity drives us to discover not merely the whole world surrounding us broadly but also our own generation insightfully. Through the research on the family tree associated with specific milestones, people can gain profound understanding ranging from who our former generations were and how deeply geographic and demographic factors shape the family spirit and traditions to how our own family distinguishes from others. Furthermore, mass media also promotes the inquiry into one’s own antecedents with the extra supply of tools and means of communications. While a plethora of newspapers keep publishing generation-related posts that sparkles the enthusiasm for family background, Internet enables us to grasp such a myriad of information within a blink. On a daily basis, some articles try to reveal the background of public figures just for arousing more views; consequently, this has fired the trend as more people wonder about their own family history as well.

Regarding its impacts, this trend exerts advantageous influences on personal and communal development. The gathered information about our own history may kindle the interest in family traditions and spirits. Therefore, people would take pride in their own cultural identity and find the way to maintain as well as to exhibit their distinct traits. In addition, discovering one’s own background can make the history lessons at schools more lively and practical in the way children are truly passionate for what happened in the past, especially for what relates to their roots.

In conclusion, the search for family background is gaining more and more publicity mainly thanks to the human’s curious mind and advanced technology. As people always strive for future achievements, comprehensive understanding about antecedents is the crucial key to keep the culture alive.