Some people believe that crime rate can be reduced by giving a long punishment, while others say there are alternate ways to reduce crime. Discuss both ways and give your opinion.

It is argued that, the crime rates soaring beyond the limits in the twenty first century. Some people feel that long punishments will deter people from ding crime, while other think there are alternative ways to decrease crime rates. This essay discuss both arguments before draw a conclusion.

TO begin with, the people who say crime rates can be reduced with long term punishments put forward some reason to clarify their argument. First of all, they claim that small term punishments will not deter people from engaging criminal activities in future. For example, in Saudi Arabia crime rates are lesser than other democratic countries. Experts say that, the length and severity of punishment here decreased crime rates. Another important point is that, the punished criminals soon come out after finishing their punishment periods and engage in criminal activities. For example, a murder in our place recently happend because of a criminal who had been just released from jail after serving his term. Thus , they argue that the length of punishment should be increased so that the crime rates come down.

However people who support the former view also have some relevant causes to justify their stand. Firstly, they argue that to do crime or mistakes is human , so the law and order should give the culprit a chance for remorse. For instance, many cold blooded criminals have changed their mind after a short term punishment. Nobody have the right to punish somebody in the darkness of jail forever. The second point they raises is, the culprits too have a family and children their life will be miserable after he/ she jailed for a long term. They suggest some alternative solutions to curb the crime rates. First one is , rehabilitation programs for culprits who have finished their punishment period. Criminologists say that most released people again attracted to crimes because do no have any thing to do. If the government take initiative to open rehabilitation center, the crime rates can be cut down considerably. Another proposal from their side is to government should support financially to start small scale business.

Having checked both sides I too agree with the former view point as it is more practical humanitarian . Therefore, governments should necessary steps to help the released culprits from jail in order to lead a peaceful life.