Some people believe that criminqls should be given longer term of prison as to reduce crime. Do you agree or disagree.

These days crime is increasing at an alarming rate in the society. Majority of folks reckon that offenders should be kept for longer imprisonment which may lead to minimise the crime rate in the country. I partially agree with the given agrument and would like to discuss my views in the forthcoming paragraphs.

There are abundant of reasons that why government should give long term punishment of prison to culprits. The chief favourable fact may be that, there are some criminals who commit hard core crimes such as murder and rape for those offenders this punishment is better. It would remind to other criminals to stop doing crimes. Therefore, it would help to makes a society good place to live there. For example, Indian government give a long term imprisonment to Dera chief of sirsa Ram Rahim in the case of rape. After taking this decision by legal bodies, the crime rate in the India is minimise at some extent.

Proceeding to the issue of why legal bodies should not give longer imprisonment to offenders. First of all, if criminals are kept in prison for long time period then prisons would become overcrowded. Consequently, government would spend more money to provide better facilities to offenders in the form of shelter, food, medical facility and clothes. Secondly, some criminals who commit minor crimes such as thieft, robbery and so on. If government keep to those ones in prison then it would be injustice for them. Instead of imprisonment, those criminals should send to rehabilitation center where they can learn new skills which may change the lifestyle and forget to do such crimes. Additional, some person only commit crimes when they confront unemployment due to lack of education so, legal authorities should provide better education and job to every citizen. As a result, it may reduce the crime rate in the nation.

To sum up, it can be confidently conveyed that, government should give longer imprisonment to only those offenders who do hard core crimes.