Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future Others by contrast are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than h

In nowadays, it is widely argued whether recent advances with respect to AI pose a threat to mankind or if our quality of life is going to be benefited greatly by it. In my opinion, artificial intelligence is a reality which can only make the daily lives of people on this planet easier and more comfortable for the reasons mentioned below.

There are, however, those who believe machines and computers will inevitably reach a point at which they have become self-aware, and as a consequence, much smarter than humans. This could lead to a future war between men and machines similar to the one depicted on the “Terminator” movies franchise. In addition, the danger of machines turning on mankind seems more realistic considering the fact that all information is digitalized and stored in electronic hard drives. If computers become self-aware, they will be able to access easily information such as the defense system of a country or the banking details of the civilians of a country, and therefore harm people and their governments severely.

A more optimistic view, and one that I favor, recognizes the possible dangers arising from AI technologies, but also can gain significantly more buy using this technology reasonably. For instance, regarding the field of services, in some countries machines are instituted replacing tellers and providing automatically services to retail customers. Furthermore, with respect to medicine, artificial programs are developed that are designed to diagnose people, and even perform surgeries. Should this technology manages to work effectively, the positive outcome is unparallel and millions of lives around the globe shall be saved.

In conclusion, I believe that artificial intelligence can increase in many ways the quality of life on earth, despite its potentially hazardous misuse.