Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that traffic congestion nowadays is a serious problem for most countries in the world, especially developing countries. While many people think that extending more and wider roads is the best solution to resolve the problem, I would agree with those who believe the better way to reduce traffic jam is building train and subway lines.

On the one hand, there are some clear reasons why the extension and construction of roads can alleviate the volume of traffic. First of all, the existing roads are inadequate to provide the space for the increase of cars. In big cities, people who live on the outskirts usually commute to work by their own car. This may lead to a rise in traffic congestion in both inside and outside the city. Governments, therefore, should spend money to build and extend roads to cope with traffic jams. Secondly, since the more network of roads is built people are able to drive on an alternative way to avoid crowd when traffic congestion occurs.

On the other hand, people believe that government spending money on building train and subway lines is better decision to tackle traffic jams. Firstly, since such public transport usually runs quickly than cars, people tend to prioritise these forms of transport to travel. This may relieve the pressure on current roads. Secondly, sometimes there is rarely available land to extend further roads, especially in large cities. A metro network, built underground, would therefore be a more practical option, and it has proved in many cities across the world.

In conclusion, although extending the size of roads can reduce traffic jams, it seems to me that installing train and subway lines is a better choice to reduce the number of vehicles on roads.