Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that for a hobby to be exciting, it needs to have some sort of challenges. Meanwhile, others think this criterion is unnecessary. In my opinion, I partly agree with the second idea.

On the one hand, there are several existing easy activities still filling with much excitement. Take watching movies as an example, a great number of people could find it enjoyable, yet there is no sort of difficulties about it. We can watch anywhere and anytime as long as we feel comfortable. Second, the easiness of it is one of the factors define it as a common favourite hobby in modern-day life. Furthermore, not many people prefer to engage in difficult activities since they only do them because of the need to find an escape daily heavy workload. They also agree that a routine considered to be fun only when it could awake their passion and, even better if no large amount of effort is needed.

However, completing a more challenging activity could result in greater level joyfulness to performers. It dues to the fact that the harder a task is, the sweeter victory someone could taste. For example, working out frequently is no simple task for newcomers, yet if people are willing to stick to the plan and finally achieve their goals, its result would be extremely worthwhile more than anything they have experienced. It creates more sense of achievement filled with even more excitement.

In conclusion, I personally believe that a joyful activity depends on no level of difficulty but the personality of each individual. However, a harder activity might be able to create more long-term excitement for them.