Some people believe it is better to raise children in the city, while others consider the countryside to be a more suitable choice. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Throughout the centuries, nurturing kids has been recognized as a challenging task among several groups of parents. While some argue that such responsibility should only be performed in the cities, others advocate parenting is most effective in the countryside. Both views will be examined in this essay, and I will also explain why I feel it is important to raise a child in the rural areas rather than big cities.

Those who support growing up children in a suburb or in the countryside have two main arguments. First of all, these places tend to be boring, without any cultural events or entertainment options. Kids living in the New York City, for instance, have the chance to take uptown to the Metropolitan Museum of Art or see movies in a regular basis, in comparison with the rural areas, where the local cinemas screen films once or twice a week. Another argument is that living in the city is more affordable, while suburbs certainly have hidden costs. In terms of transportation, for example, families in large cities like Washington or Tokyo, use public transit systems, whereas suburban families are generally forced to drive cars for commuting and everyday activities.

Others, however, myself included, feel that the children’s’ upbringing works better when it takes place in the countryside. A key factor for parents that opt to keep their family in a rural environment, is spending time outdoors. Indeed, it is healthier to live in the countryside due to the sheer amount of walking outside, outdoor playgrounds and parks. If children had to be most of their time in a backyard, they would definitely end up with sad feelings or even depression.

In conclusion, although it would be full of activities and cheaper to grow up kids in the city, I feel that countryside has more beneficial effects on children’s health.