Some people believe online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, there are vigorous debates about whether e-books or other online materials should be used to replace the traditional physical books for children’s reading. Both views have their advantages and disadvantages.

One of the reasons why people advocate online learning materials is because it is more environmental-friendly. When we have finished reading a book, we just need to close the file for an e-book, whereas we need to drop a book physically into the rubbish bin for a physical book. Furthermore, e-books allow people to save spaces, as they do not need to find places to keep piles and piles of books anymore.

On the other hand, many people prefer physical books to virtual books due to the likelihood of addiction associated with electric devices. Many electric devices, such as mobile phones, iPads, and tablets, contain also electronic games that are very attractive to children. Therefore, besides reading, children may addict to those other games which may result in them holding the devices for the whole day and feeling a loss of interest in other activities. This, in turn, will cause the elimination of personal interaction which is considered to be critical for the development of social skills, especially in the early stage of childhood. Moreover, it is generally known that children’s eyes will be badly affected after seeing the screen of an electric device for a long time, and this adverse effect is unfortunately irreversible.

To conclude, there is pros and cons for each of the view. I support the view of printed materials as I believe that the downsides of reading ebooks outweigh its upsides.