Some people believe that professional athletes serve as positive role models for young people, while others argue that their behavior both on and off the field can have a negative influence.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

People have sparked an argument over the impact of sportspersons on the youth. While their proponents highlight their pivotal role as idols for juveniles, I believe that athletes’ images can be noxious regardless of whether they are competing or not.

On the one hand, sportsmen have been recognised as an ideal public figure because of several reasons. Firstly, it is obvious that no athlete can succeed without dedication and enthusiasm in training. In other words, once their efforts yield triumph, their success stories can epitomise the significance of resilience, diligence and passion, which can be underlined to educate the youth about a whole array of positive traits. Secondly, over the past few decades, the sedentary lifestyle has been witnessed to inflict nations upon many dangerous diseases, like diabetes or hypertension. Therefore, if adolescents idolise a certain sportperson, they may tend to imitate his or her daily routine by setting up their own fitness regimes, so the subsequent workouts can gradually stave off their health risks.

On the other hand, I opine that looking up to sports professions, young adults can be confronted with a number of detriments. To begin with, while sports are currently plagued with conspiracies of using performance-enhancing drugs or match-fixing, the information related to such corruptions has been dissemminated more rapidly than ever due to the digital revolution. Consequently, in case a juvenile is a sports enthusiasm, an exposure to these incidents will be inevitable, which can be accompanied by a distorted view and an undermined trust on moral values, such as fidelity. Additionally, how athletes behave off the field also enormously impact the public. Indeed, any controversial detail about their personal life, from an extravagant lifestyle, a scandalous affair, or an adamant opinion on social issues, can be adopted by the youth, who often favour emulating their role models, and poses threats to social fabrics.

In conclusion, although the youth can absorb the zest for physical activities from athletes, it seems to me such professions’ improper behaviours, if detected, can do more harms than goods to their development.