Some people believe that professionals such as doctors and engineers should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that specialists trained in areas including medicines and enginering should be obliged to practice in the nations where they receive their education, while many people claim that those people should have the liberty to work in foreign nations. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and later explains the rationale for my supporting of the former.

Supporters of the conviction that professionals should be working in the country which provides their training have seveval justifications. The first one is that those specialists are already familiar with the working environments and cultural norms of their homeland, which enables them to perform with more efficiency for the citizens. Additional reason is that occupations such medical practitioners or engineering workers are fundamental for the long-term development of any nation. If experts especially those in developing and underdeveloped nations have the discretion to relocate abroad, human capital flight would surely ensue. Eventually, the country’s workforce might become underqualifed, slowing down its progress.

On the other hand, there are many benefits regarding the liberty to work in a foreign land. The first advantage is this freedom allows them to earn better salaries and enjoy higher living standards. To illustrate, many registered nurses in Vietnam have immigrated to work in medical centers in the United States where they are paid nearly three times as much as in their hometown and could have a more democratic and transparent government in contrast to a corrupted political system in Vietnam. In addition, people might have opportunities to learn new things. This is because working in other nations especially developed ones means individuals could be exposed to more advanced and innovative knowledge and gain experience which would never be taught in their homeland.

In conclusion, I believe both sides have their merits. However, in my opinion, the case for requiring experts to find jobs in their own nation is stronge. The reason is that the freedom of working abroad is only desirable to experts’ careers and lives while hardly benefiting their homeland. Therefore, I suggest that governments should have better employment policies to attract those skilled workers to seek jobs locally.