Some people believe that the range of technology available to individuals today is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people while others say that technology has the opposite effect Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is true that the advent of technology has brought tremendous benefits to human life. While technology can narrow the gap between social classes to some extent, I believe that some technological products have set affluent individuals apart from others.

On the one hand, the latest technology has transformed our lives and bridged the gap between individuals. The availability of technological products has allowed massive numbers of people to live a comfortable life in almost the same way. Nowadays, for example, nearly every household has at least a television, a fridge, or an air-conditioner, all of which contribute to not only increasing the overall living standards but also reducing the gap between the haves and the have-nots in society as a whole. The spectacular growth of low-cost airlines also means that more people can take a flight to the place they want to go to, either domestic destinations or international ones.

On the other hand, I would argue that the advancement of technology has separated wealthy individuals from poorer ones. Many technological devices are prohibitively expensive, and only the rich are able to afford them. Luxury cars and private jets, for instance, have created a shining image for the owners, giving them an aura of confidence when they appear in public. Those who live on a meager income, in contrast, could merely enjoy a frugal life with mediocre but necessary consumer products. The idea of possessing the latest technology in the home might be far-fetched to bourgeois individuals.

In conclusion, although some technological items are produced for the masses and used equally among individuals, I believe that some others contribute to creating a divide in lifestyles between rich people and poor ones.