Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is argue that reading activity has more positive effects for children than watching TV or playing computer games. I totally agree with this idea.

First, reading stories from a book contributes to enhance children’s concentration. If children are able to improve their concentration, it will be particularly helpful in their academic career. For example, in high school, students have to learn at least five classes every day. Therefore, losing the concentration skill can lead to the distractions which can make students fail to many exams.

Second, books are instrumental to develop their imagination and creativity through reading books. Reading a stories from a book stimulates children’s brain to imagine the characters, the background while children normally just access many images, programs and stories in the television or games as true without any efforts of little imagination. Moreover, the development of creativity paves the way for many different doors to future careers, such as directors and fashion designers.

Last but not least, the most importance of reading to children is knowledge of many other fields. For instance, children can easily get an all-round understanding of world around them through reading science books. In term of history, books attract many interests of young people via many interesting stories and stimulate the imagination of children rather than many films or games. Furthermore, games and television are full of advertisements these days and sometimes, have some inappropriate content for children. This makes it even more difficult for people to absorb information and knowledge effectively.

In conclusions, although playing games and watching television have many entertainment values, I believe that reading books has more benefits, including fostering imagination and creativity, gaining the knowledge and developing the concentration.